Versatility Has Its Rewards

Many thanks to Barbara at March House Books Blog for selecting me for the Versatile Blogger Award. I’m honored, Barbara. What a nice way to celebrate my blog’s first year of existence!
By accepting the award I’ve agreed to …
1. Thank and link to the person who nominated me.
2. Share seven random facts about myself.
3. Pass the award on to five blogger friends.
4. Contact and congratulate the nominated blogs.

7 random facts about me:

Thoor Ballylee. William Butler Yeats lived here.

Image via Wikipedia

1. One of my fond memories of driving on the “wrong” side of the road on our honeymoon in Ireland 26 years ago was having to stop to let a flock of white sheep cross the lane.
2. Another: The cool, clear day my husband and I were the lone visitors at William Butler Yeats’ Thoor Ballylee.
3. I’m excited about seeing the singer/guitarist Richard Thompson (formerly with Fairport Convention) on my birthday tomorrow night.
4. I’ve let my younger daughter take over my turntable, where Cat Stevens is happily ensconced again.
5. One of my favorite DJs is my brother-in-law Larry, who does a show at WTUL, the sassy independent radio station at Tulane.
6. I decided smoking was too expensive when a pack of cigarettes cost 60 cents.
7. When I was 7, I drew a picture of a crab and chased a girl around and around the classroom, until the teacher came in at last and punished me by making me sit outside in the hall.

5 Blogger Friends who  deserve this award:

1. Joanne at My Brain on Books. Joanne, a bookseller extraordinaire, highlights stellar middle-grades books.
2. Bob at Be a Child Again. Bob shares his fanciful fictional world of Ballymore, as well as helpful links to children’s book reviewers.
3. Charlotte at Charlotte’s Library. Charlotte features fantasies and sci-fi for children and teens.
4. Joanne at Joanne Rocklin. Joanne shares her thoughts on children’s books, child development, and writing. Don’t miss her “anti-block” blog — or her great kids’ books.
5. Mara at Mother of all Trips. Mara’s lively blog offers a boatload of ideas for traveling with children.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 11:32:41

    Janice, thank you for the thank you! I love your random facts.
    I would have called in before but my family (son, his wife and baby daughter) have been on a visit from Australia so I took a few weeks off.

    Reply

  2. Bob Brooks
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 05:21:25

    Thank you Janice, for selecting my blog, Be A Child Again, as a Versatile Blogger nominee. It is always rewarding when a peer recognizes and appreciates the effort that goes into our creations.

    Reply

  3. Joanne Fritz
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 21:11:02

    Thank you so much, Janice! I’m honored.

    Reply

  4. Charlotte
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 17:54:21

    whoops–I was expecting my comment to show up at the end, and it didn’t, so I did it again…..sorry!

    Reply

  5. Charlotte
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 17:53:55

    Thanks so much! I’m glad to have found your blog, and in such a nice way!

    Reply

  6. Charlotte
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 17:53:15

    Thanks so much!!!!! I’m glad to have found your blog in such a nice way!

    Reply

  7. Joanne Rocklin
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 20:15:15

    Janice, how thoughtful and generous of you to post a public “Like” about my blog. I continue to enjoy yours, and I loved those facts about you! Your blog certainly deserves all the accolades it gets…Thanks! Joanne xo

    Reply

  8. Rolf Rykken
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 19:18:41

    Congrats, grrlll!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

